API sample code for updating a field value

gsgriffin

Question

I've developed an application which would benefit by using the API, but the instructions given are not a great way for me to learn.  Having instructions that say, "Just do this and then that" is missing the whole point of how and assuming those reading are professional programmers that do this all day for a living.  Those of us who are self taught are left to do a lot of work trying to figure it out.  I learn best by just seeing code and understanding what it is doing and then adapting to my needs.  Wondering if anyone might be able to post a little code to help?

All I need is an API code where I can send it the table, Row Id, field, and value and have that update in the table.  I don't need Gets. I realize that doing all of this from Javascript is not a good idea with the with the client key being exposed (but OH, how that would make my life easier and faster).  So, PHP on the server is my only other option, I suppose.  I've already set up and have the account permissions.

Could I ask that someone kindly just post an example PHP which would receive the needed values posted from the URL and do the action of updating a table field?  My Javascript can post all the needed values in the URL call to the PHP.  I can modify it from there to hide details a little better so it isn't obvious enough for someone else to simply make direct calls to the PHP.  If I'm going about this the wrong way, feel free to offer a different solution, but some code example would really be helpful as opposed to telling me the better way.

THANKS!!!!

6 answers to this question

Since it appears nobody has done this before and support from Caspio isn't willing to make their documentation clear enough to figure this out, I spent many hours in trial and error to figure out how the API works and to do so with PHP...which everyone on the web should know.  Below is the code sample that when called through a URL with query values will: