Passing Internal Parameter To Popup

Farnsbarnes

Question

I have a button next to a small field listbox on a search submission form, that opens a popup.

The popup contains a much larger listbox of the same field so that Users can find it easier to view and locate their item for selection.  The same 'load' and 'exit' internal parameter passes between the form and the popup, because I need any selection made in the form to show in the popup, and I also need any changed selection in the popup to pass back into the listbox on the form when the popup is closed.

I've managed to get a selected item on the popup to pass through to the listbox in the submission form, by reloading the form.   But I can't seem to get the parameter to pass the other way (ie from submission form to popup).  I guess this is because the 'submit' button on the form hasn't been pressed so the parameter is empty.   So I've tried using some JS with 'onchange' in the form's footer, but I'm not good at coding and just can't get the selected item in the listbox to cross into the parameter.

Does anyone know some code that can 'force' a value into my  '[@sitelink]'  parameter? 

Thanks so much for any tips.

9 answers to this question

I've shortened my question above to the absolute essential as I'm driving myself mad with code here.

I just need to know if the line below, in itself, makes sense.  I'm trying to pass the value of a field to an external parameter during a listbox selection 'onchange' event.  I think I've narrowed it down to this line as the problem.

'[@sitelink]' = document.getElementById('cbParamVirtual1').value;

Hello Farnsbarnes,

I'm not sure that I understand correctly what you would like to achieve, but let me explain overall case, how to pass parameter between parent page and popup. And your last code example does not makes sense, because you try use not variable, but string literal. 

1) To pass parameter to popup you can add it to query string

<!DOCTYPE html>