90-Day Password Expiration

SteveB

Question

I have searched for a solution, but have only found situations that don't resolve my problem.

My need: at login, a user with a password that has not been changed in XX-days will be directed to change their password (should this be a submission page or a password change form) . The system, knowing what their current password is, will not allow them to use the same one. Once the password is changed, the user will continue to the page they were trying to sign into.

My level of experience with Caspio can be described at best as self taught. I was tasked with the implementation of my project with no prior knowledge of Caspio or coding. Please forgive me if I have followup questions or need additional direction.

Thank you!!

6 answers to this question

Hi there!

The previous reply is correct, you need to have the Last Update field. However, I think Javascript is not necessary. JS would probably be my last option on workarounds. :D

image.thumb.png.53d02dbabd3b06891b70f368a788ef01.png

So, how can you do this without Javascript?

You can use Tasks to send out email for the users who has outdated Email. You can set it up like this: (You can change the conditions based on your requirement)

image.thumb.png.d4aa54131601e63b5b01a13e36ccf6d6.png

On the Message Body, you can put in the link of the DataPage that will enable the users change their passwords. 

Of course, you can add some actions in the task as well, like for example, once a user does not change the password after 90 days, this user will be inactive (using checkboxes prolly)

Hope this helps();

Glitch :wub:

On 2/23/2019 at 7:33 AM, Harbinger said:

Thanks for posting!

Unfortunately, my need centers around the system forcing the user to change their password to something different after XX days. This solution does not address that part.

Is there another place I should look?

Thanks!

On 2/23/2019 at 7:30 AM, Harbinger said:

Thanks for posting!