Need to populate Data Fields in Add page with Complex Calculated Virtual fields

Lynda

Question

I am new to Caspio.

I have a Add page. I have several Virtual fields that are used to calculate nine different pretty complex calculations based on different table values and data field selections (SEX, AGE, WEIGHT, HEIGHT, LIFESTYLE, LIFEGOAL, etc). Whenever any one of these values change, the calculations recalculates. This works.

Example Virtual3 for ProteinGoal:

CASE

/* Value Based */
WHEN [@cbParamVirtual15] ="1" THEN (SELECT DietProtein FROM Diet WHERE DietID = [@field:Diet])

/* Percent Based - table field entered as integer */
WHEN [@cbParamVirtual15] ="2" THEN [@cbParamVirtual11] * ((SELECT DietProtein FROM Diet WHERE DietID = [@field:Diet])/100)

/* Weight Based */
WHEN  [@cbParamVirtual15] ="3" THEN (Cast(([@field:Weight])AS int)/2.2)*(SELECT DietProtein FROM Diet WHERE DietID = [@field:Diet])

END

The final nine virtual fields have been validated for correctness. Now I just need to assign the value to the data field (ProteinGoal).

The end user will either accept each value or over write the value with their own value. The data values will be stored in the table.

I am NOT a java programmer. I am hoping that there is a Caspio solution to my situation.

I have tried... setting the Default Value to the virtual value on load, but all that gives me is a one time load of Null (Not what I want or need)

I have tried... making the data field a calc field and placing the final calc in the calculation, but the field is not modifiable. Not to specification.

Can someone please help me?

4 answers to this question

Hello @Lynda,

If I got your workflow, you need to prepopulate the data source field with the value calculated in the Virtual field. This data source field should be editable at the same time.

If this is correct, it is achievable with JavaScript code.

I am not sure which DataPage type you use.