Filtering Many Rows of Data to Select Only 1 Row

Newlogiq

Question

Hello...I need some guidance, please.  I have a view of 2 tables.  The first table contains customer information and an order number.  The second table contains the order number plus a variety of notes associated with that order that have been date and time stamped.  There are multiple notes entries for each order number.  I'm trying to create a report that only shows the order number 1 time when a date from the second table matches some filtering criteria.  Specifically, I want to only show those orders (again, just show order number 1 time) that do NOT have a note within XX days of today.  How would you do this?  I'm fairly new to Caspio...thank you.

3 answers to this question

Hello @Newlogiq,

Firstly, you can add the criteria directly to the View. It should work if you need to apply a condition like an exact number of days.
For example:
BpqM7d7.png

However, there can be more than 1 record for each order that matches the condition. What is the expected output in this case? Do you need to display those dates as comma-separated values? Or do you need to display the most recent date? 

Do you only need to display the order number and the date? Or do you need to display more fields? 

Hi CopperBackpack...thank you very much for your suggestions.  In my case, I need to produce a report from that data set that shows only the most recent entry in the table for an order where an associated note is more than 5 days old.  If there are 10 notes all older than 5 days associated with the order, I only want to show the order 1 time with the most recent entry.  Please see the attached screen shot of the notes data table. Thoughts?

Screenshot 2024-02-01 at 8.56.09 AM.png

Hello @Newlogiq,

1) The first option is to use a separate Table that stores the records that match the criteria (so, stores 1 record per order number).