Trigger when values exceed threshold

EmmePGN

Question

Hello, I'm new to Caspio.

I have an Update Form with a calculated field called "Total_Percentage",  that takes the values from other fields.

Code below:

Isnull([@field:PointFactor_Duties_PercentDuty1],0)+Isnull([@field:PointFactor_Duties_PercentDuty2],0)+Isnull([@field:PointFactor_Duties_PercentDuty3],0)+Isnull([@field:PointFactor_Duties_PercentDuty4],0)+Isnull([@field:PointFactor_Duties_PercentDuty5],0)+Isnull([@field:PointFactor_Duties_PercentDuty6],0)

What I would like to do is to prevent users from going forward when their total exceeds 100%. 

I also, would like to show them, which field(s)  is/are causing this field to go over the threshold of 100%.

The rules section is not conducive to this goal, as rules section is limited.

Triggered action section forces me to either email or text the users if their total exceeds 100%. I don't want to do this, since the whole point is for users to correct errors immediately.  

Is there anyone out there who can impart me a script or two to help me?

SQL or javascript that would work with Caspio.

Thank you so much.

Emme

trigger for when exceeding threshold value.png

Edited by EmmePGN
to attach the picture

2 answers to this question

Hi @EmmePGN,

There are different ways how you can tackle this challenge.

You may use a JavaScript or you create an expression which results in SQL error.

Here is a JavaScript which will hide the "Submit" button if user selection exceed "100":

<script>

function checkLimit(){

let value = document.querySelector('input[id*="InsertRecordYOUR_FIELD"]').value; //enter your actual field name
    let button = document.querySelector('input[id^="Submit"]');

if (value > 100) {

button.style.visibility = "hidden";
    }

else { 

button.style.visibility = "visible";
    }

}

setInterval(checkLimit, 500)

</script>

This code should go into Footer of the Datapage and also make sure you disabled an HTML editor.