Passing parameters to Javascript on change

Hi, I am a beginner to Caspio and scripting.  I have a datapage that is embedded into the HTML on my site.  I have the datapage set to conditionally format/hide certain sections of the page based on user input.  That is all working perfectly.  However, the first option on my datapage is a dropdown with 2 choices.  I would like to pass a parameter from that dropdown to conditionally change an image on the webpage where the datapage is embedded.  So, for example:

User chooses option "A" from the dropdown on the datapage and the image on the page where the datapage is embeded becomes a picture of an apple

User chooses option "B" from the dropdown on the datapage and the image on the page where the datapage is embeded becomes a picture of a banana

I have found examples on line of scripts that will change an image based on the output of a dropdown, but the dropdown and the image are both part of the same source (if that makes sense).  In my case, my dropdown is in Caspio, but the image isn't.  I know this needs to be done with Javascript and I know I can pass parameters from Caspio "on exit", but can I pass them "on change"?  If so, how do I do that?

• 1 year later...

Whenever I need something that happens in a Caspio datapage to 'exit' the datapage and do something on the host page I do it via calling a js function that affects the host page. 

For example, on the dropdown's 'change' you can call a js function  (which can be located on the host page in script), and that function can do something like shows/hide a divs on the host page. So if you have images in divs on the host page, using an id for each div, you can show/hide the div's id, depending on the value of the Caspio dropdown (which runs an onChange event to get the value, which then runs a specific function on the host page.