Bypass initial Search form to load data

AccessNerd

Question

This seems like it'd be a common request so I tried searching for this and I read several posts but I didn't find anything that worked for me. I'm a Noob so I am probably just using the wrong words to search. So here it goes:

In a tabular report, with these settings:

Show Search Form
       >Results on a new page

Is there a way to essentially bypass (or have the form press the search button) on the initial load so the user gets to the list first, and then can use the search link to get back to the form as needed? I'd prefer not to use the show results below search form option.

In a tabular report, I really like the functionality of the "separate" Search form loading the results page. It has a nice "Search again" link showing up at the top so the user can easily get back to the Search as needed. The problem is that the user has to click the search button on the initial load to get to the listing. I'd rather start with the list of everything then choose to modify the search parameters.   When the search form is displayed above the results, you actually have the option to display the results on initial load. But for some strange reason, if you choose the "Show search form results on new page", you cannot bypass the search on initial load.  That really seems like the option should apply to either Search form options.

Any help would be appreciated.

4 answers to this question

Hello @AccessNerd,

There is a common solution that allows dividing Search and Results.

Please refer to these resources: 

https://howto.caspio.com/tech-tips-and-articles/tech-parameters/how-to-separate-search-page-and-results-page-into-two-different-webpages/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spMjo8X4mgA&t

Maybe this is also helpful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spMjo8X4mgA&t