JavaScript to Convert Phone Number to E.164 format

Thanks to the Format Phone Number in DataPages how-to article, I've formatted all of my phone numbers to use the US national format of (###) ###-####. This is great for readability; however, I have a downstream integration that requires the E.164 international standard format of +[country_code][subscriber_line]. For example, (123) 456-7890 would become +11234567890. So, I essentially need to strip out all non-numeric characters (including white spaces) and prepend "+1". All of my phone numbers are in the US. This may sound easy, but I'm a citizen developer new to JavaScript so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

How are you capturing the phone numbers? Do they select the country, then type in the full number including area code/subscriber line?

Either way, may I suggest a calculated field instead of JS? Just a thought. 

You could make your phone number field into a Calculated Value form element. Then, use Virtual Fields in place of the real phone number field on your form or wherever you enter this information. Then you can just use something simple in the calculated value to get the results you want. You can get rid of area code and just have the phone number field too.

phonenumbers2.PNG.a9a4a066175d48a103aee642e12b465b.PNG

phonenumbers.PNG.9a324f2191c346af29491cab9065714a.PNG

@CPCaspio you can do this with javascript easily

You just need to change the ID of your telephone field  in the following code where I called the field fieldParamTel

var inputTel = document.getElementById("fieldParamTel").value;
inputTel = "+1" + inputTel.replace(/[^0-9a-z]/gi, '');

You can then use the inputTel variable for further processing

Or if you want this value in the form itself

document.getElementById("fieldParamTel").onchange  = function() {changeTel("fieldParamTel")};

function changeTel(field){
var inputTel = document.getElementById(field);
cleanTel = inputTel.value.replace(/[^0-9a-z]/gi, '');