Hidden section on submission form – how to ensure the fields in hidden section still save a value at submission

PeterER8

Question

Hi

Apologies upfront if my questions have been asked before (I could not find the answer). In my defence I am new to Caspio, started testing it last week and now have lots of questions. This one is regarding hidden sections on a submission form and entering data in the fields there.  

So I have created a DataPage that depending on a Dropdown (either morning or afternoon) shows different sections (with the help of rules).

If I select “morning” I get following cells that I need to fill with data from a dropdown ( [   ] signify the data entry cell on the form), the remaining fields remain hidden:

09:00 Result   [   ]

10:00 Result   [   ]   

11:00 Result   [   ]   

12:00 Result   [   ]   

If I select “afternoon” I get following cells that I need to fill with data from a dropdown ( [   ] signify the data entry cell on the form), now the "morning" cells are hidden:

15:00 Result   [   ]

16:00 Result   [   ]   

17:00 Result   [   ]   

18:00 Result   [   ]   

The table behind is as follows

Table: Shift, Result09, Result10, Result11, Result12, Result15, Result16, Result17, Result18

The way this is setup is that automatic value in the Result fields will always be 0 at the start. However, the hidden section ends up empty at submission. When I then look in the corresponding table I get the following result:

Table: Shift, Result09, Result10, Result11, Result12, Result15, Result16, Result17, Result18

Values: morning,0,10,11,0, , , , ,

The values of the fields that were hidden on the datapage are null/empty

And the opposite happens if I select afternoon.

Is there a way to fill these fields with the basic "0" rather than null  if the section is hidden?

Or, is there a way to use the same fields in both sections but with different data Labels (which also would reduce the number of fields).