Need to create a data page that allows for pending changes, that only get saved when approved.

RossChevalier

Question

Hi,

I have a situation where I need to allow Supervisors to request field changes to an employee record that then goes to HR for approval before the changes are applied.  I have a master data page for HR to use where they can make updates that works great.    I need to display the information currently in the system, and allow the Supervisor to make a requested change which would then flow to HR for approval and then to HR Admin to update in the master database.  Is there any way that I can do this with only one Employee master database?  I'd rather not create a separate pending update database.  To that end is there some way to make an edit to a record pending, until a person of suitable authority approves it?

For example, a Supervisor may wish to move an employee to a different department, or change the employee's compensation.   They need to be able to use the existing CASPIO Employee data as their starting point, and have those changes be pending until a senior HR person approves them.

I can do basic workflows but given the number of fields in the employee database itself, I am concerned about having to duplicate the master employee table to make a pending change table and then keep it in sync with the master employee database.

Thank you kindly

Ross

1 answer to this question

I don't think you'll need to make another table, unless you want to save the previously stored information (the department that the employee was previously in, employee's previous salary, etc).

I'm just trying to think this through my head. But, what if for every editable field you want to have approval for, you add an empty field to the table being edited? (and maybe some dropdowns - more on this part later) This may be a drag if you want every field to require approval. Or maybe we can build upon this to work with just one or two empty fields, not sure.