Multi-Select Listbox and Conditional Logic

nuimage

Question

Hello All,

I'm having trouble getting the conditional logic to work with a  multi-select listbox.   I've used conditional logic before without complication but this is my first time using it with multi-select listbox.   In the submission form, I have a multi-select listbox "currentAssign" with the value to be stored in field "currentAssign".   The datatype of the field is "List-String" and it has the following values

Campus
College
Advisor
Area of Study

when a user selects a value of Campus, College, Advisor, or Area of Study, I would like the conditional rules to display or hide additional fields on the form.   For example,  when "Campus" is selected,  the conditional rule will display a drop-down field containing local campuses, and will also make the displayed field  a required field.   In this example i'm using the Parameter "[@currentAssign]" to set the criteria because i don't have an option to set the criteria by field name "currentAssign". 

Rule 1
Criteria:  [@currentAssign] is not 'College'
Action:     Make Section 3 hidden

Rule2
Criteria:  [@currentAssign] is 'College'
Action:    Make currentAssign College required

I've tested the conditional logic on drop-down form elements that has a data type of "Text".   And it works as expected, however, I can't get it to work with multi-select listbox  form elements with  a data type of "List-String".     I've gone as far as i'm able to, can anyone please provide some help.

Thanks in advance

4 answers to this question

Hi,

Sorry to say that Rules do not work with List-String DataTypes. That is a current limitation of Caspio.

One workaround for your issue would be to convert currentAssign field into a text box and change it to a dropdown form element  in the DataPage.