Passing Virtual field to Actual field

Colnocode

Question

As is obvious, by my member name,  i am not a programmer ( naturally that is why I selected Caspoi!) - So from that please read  warning dummy ahead  and 'extra explicit please'

I have a data page that mostly works real well.  Just one area has crossed me over:-

I have in a simple Table(1) and it has just two fields an ID and a Message (text 6400). I have a second Table(2) and it also has amongst many other fields,  a field also called  Message (text 6400).

My data page has data source of Table(2), it is a form. On entry to the data page a parameter comes with @Mid (message id for Table(1)). I use a virtual field [ Virtual3], with Form Element 'Cascading Text Field' and @Mid to select the appropriate 'standard message' from Table(1).  Sometime it is necessary to adjust/change/ personalise the message, the virtual field accommodates that very well. So far, so good no issues.

Final, when I press submit ,I want the data (changed or otherwise in Virtual3) to be saved in new Table(2) record in Table(2) Message, but can't figure out how to do that (if have seen some scripts that maybe can do this but I am not a programmer so I am not sure?).

Happy to answer questions 

Thanks in advance for your help

6 answers to this question

13 minutes ago, Vitalikssssss said:

Hi @Colnocode,

Why you cannot use the Message (text 64000) field from Table(2) instead of [ Virtual3] if you want the data to be saved in Table(2) upon submit?

Regards,

vitalikssssss

Good question vitalikssssss. More explanation may help.  What I am trying to do seemed so simple - but!

So,  I have many semi standard email messages (Text 64000) -Table (1). Simplistically, I want to choose the (most) appropriate email message and edit it (without spoiling the original) and then send the edited email message.