Left Join to Add/Update Child Records

mgredmond

Question

I have two files: A parent file and a child file in a one-to-many relationship. Like a Purchase Order that has a header (parent file) and the individual lines of the Purchase Order  (child file).

I am using a left outer join (all records in Parent file and matching records in Child file), filtered on Parent File ID. I use this because I want to be able to display even those records with no detail so that I can add the details.

I pass the Parent File ID in the URL to the Child File and everything comes up the way I expect it to, except the Foreign Key does not get populated with the passed parameter. I am clearly missing something in the process.

I am new to Caspio but not new to databases. Can someone point me in the right direction?

5 answers to this question

@MayMusic, I have a  SUBMISSION datapage to create the parent file, with a GUID as the Primary Key. Upon submission,  the child file is called via URL with the Primary Key passed as a parameter. In the TABULAR REPORT child datapage, I receive the parameter as a filter using the Parent Primary Key portion of the View. The URL shows that the correct value is being passed and eve received, but I don't know how to get the received value into the foreign key portion of the View.

This is the relationship between the files

image.png.4579be58ad79a6faf48c2d2d72046907.png

image.thumb.png.209e191d2d051757c6667327d3ac5d1f.png

image.thumb.png.b22ce39b9923b4ed2c0d6af009c88a7c.png

I hope this makes sense. 

Edited by mgredmond
Corrected attribution.

Hello @mgredmond,

The way you pass and receive parameters seems correct. If you see the correct hdrid on your URL, you should have been able to filter your DataPage properly using [@hdrid].

If not, you may want to check the following:

1.) Make sure that Bridge and External Parameters are allowed

image.png.fc30b956461a5d1ba21fa21085e83a67.png