Navigation Menu that varies by user or user role?

AccessNerd

Question

Hi All,

Noob here. Is there any way to create a navigation menu using the app parameters method that can change by the user role?

For example a standard user may have "Add New | Reporting" where as an admin may have "Add New | Reporting | Users | Advanced Tools" etc.

I'm open to other ideas, but the app parameters is such an easy implementation. I'm a Caspio noob so any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

12 answers to this question

Hello @AccessNerd,

As Barbie mentioned above first of all you need to have a Role field in your Users table that is the data source for your Authentication. 

Then you need to create 2 different app parameters. Here is the tutorial video that can be helpful: Adding a Navigation Menu to Caspio DataPages https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCxGl1aUixk

And the last step is to add the JavaScript code to the Header section of the DataPage.

<div id='navMenuConditional'></div>

<script type="text/javascript">
document.addEventListener('DataPageReady', function (event) {

if ('[@authfield:role]' == 'Admin') {
          document.querySelector('#navMenuConditional').innerHTML = '[@app:Nav_menu_admin]'
       } else if ('[@authfield:role]' == 'Agent') { 
         document.querySelector('#navMenuConditional').innerHTML  = '[@app:Nav_menu_agent]'
       }

});
</script>

Please replace the field name ([@authfield:role]), roles names (Admin, Manager), app parameters names with your local names.

Feel free to update this thread if you have any questions.  

Hi @AccessNerd,

In addition to what I mentioned above, you may consider using Rules as well which will check what is the role if the user who's logged in then you can configure which section you want to hide. But Rules is only applicable in Submission and Details DataPage. Please refer to this article: 
https://howto.caspio.com/datapages/forms/conditional-forms/

Barbie